WVC baseball coaches name all-stars

After a memorable season that saw the Class 4A state championship game head to extra innings, Wyoming Valley West topped the Wyoming Valley Conference Coaches All-Star team.
Spartans senior pitcher/infielder Billy Gregory and junior catcher Ryan Hogan were named Co-MVPs of the league by the coaches, who released their all-star squads on Thursday.
Gregory and Hogan were joined on the Division 1 and 2 first team by teammates Justin Montalvo, Logan Zavada and Tyler Yankosky.
Hazleton Area had four first-team selections with Dante Biasi, David Klein, Chris Panzarella and Robbie John receiving the honor. Wyoming Area followed with three players in Evan Musto, Cory Lescavage and Zach Lopatka.
Berwick’s Zach Andress and Jordan DiValerio were joined on the first team by Jordan McCrum and Dave Simpson of Dallas along with Lake-Lehman’s Zach Brucher and Crestwood’s Jared Witner.
The Division 3 All-Stars were led by three players from division champion Hanover Area — Christian Pack, Kyle Kowalski and Kevin Rimmer.
Joining them on the Division 3 squad were Nanticoke’s Kyle Pokrinchak and Alec Norton, Holy Redeemer’s Jason Hoggarth and Tim Cavanaugh, Northwest’s Nick Long and Andrew Boberick, MMI Prep’s Jared Dasher and Sam Harman, GAR’s Sean-Paul Williamson, Wyoming Seminary’s Alexandre Sabourin and Meyers’ Ryan Gilgallon.

Trojan Baseball capsule
Citizens Voice

Nanticoke Area

Head coach: Dean Myers

Last year’s record: 10-4. Lost to Dunmore in second round of Class AA district playoffs.

Players to watch: Joe Olszyk, Mitchell Romanowski, Kyle Rosick, Alec Norton, Steve Kreitzer, Kyle Pokrinchak, Josh Benscoter, Dan Jeffrey.

What to expect: The Trojans are looking to build off last year’s season and have the talent returning to take it a step further. Olszyk hit .371 last year with Rosick at .333, Norton .294 and Pokrinchak .278. Olszyk, Pokrinchak, Benscoter and Jeffrey combined to make 14 starts last year. Nanticoke Area enters the season as one of the favorites.